Third-Offense OUI Charges in Massachusetts
If you are charged with a third offense for operating under the influence (OUI) of liquor or drugs, you are facing a mandatory sentence in Massachusetts. The current law makes a conviction punishable by no less than 180 days in the House of Correction, and does not allow any release due to overcrowding, so-called "good time" or any other reason prior to 150 days.
The laws have changed. The burden on a prosecutor to prove a prior OUI conviction is now limited to producing certain documents from your prior cases. However, these records may not be admissible in a courtroom if they fail to meet certain standards, are too old, or are from an out-of-state court. This can turn a case in which you are facing a mandatory sentence into a case with penalties no greater than a first offense for OUI.
The attorneys at Bellotti Law Group, P.C. are familiar with all these recent changes, and know how to best protect your rights and options while defending against the prosecution.Penalties For A Third OUI Charge
A third OUI offense can result in a loss of license for as much as eight years. In some cases, you may lose your license for even longer. This is another reason why we often may recommend that you have a trial because the prosecution may not have enough evidence to prove your guilt.
Contact Bellotti Law Group, P.C. of Boston, Quincy and Cambridge today for a free telephone consultation at 617-225-2100 or use our contact form. Be sure to have any paperwork or other information ready when you speak to us.